4.2
91% of users recommend (2303 out of 2524)
Customer Service:
Flexibility & Fairness:
Product Features:
Value For Money:
Compare 543 breakdown cover policies...
Order: 

1,187 Reviews

Disgraceful service !!

Poor

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

I have just broken down in my car, a woman, on my own and because I am not over 0.8 miles away from my home address and am actually only 0.4 miles from my home address they wont come out and assist me !!!! I am furious ... This is the first time I have used START RESCUE !! so I am stranded .. Thank you very much !! Alternatively the smug assistant on the phone said to me that I could be towed home for a charge of £99 the 0.4 miles back to my house !! When I asked if they were seriously going to leave me stranded as my policy did not include Home Start .. He then put the phone down on me ... I am not at home !!!! Absolute disgraceful service .. Do not choose this Rescue Service !!!!!

by , 2 days ago report review

You only get what you pay for!

Poor

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Or in my case, you don't get what you pay for. DO NOT be tempted because they are cheaper. If you have a complaint, that will be the end to any communication. You cannot phone them. Please please DON'T GO THERE! I had a flat battery due to it being drained by a faulty boot catch and they would not come out without me paying nearly £100 up front. I was told even if I was a woman on my own with no access to that amount of money, they would still not come out!!!!!I would be abandoned. Enough said I think.

by , 4 days ago report review

Never need on a Sunday

Poor

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Called today as my car would not stop and due to it being a Sunday was told I could have someone today but if the problem was still there tomorrow (flat battery etc) I would not be covered as I would need to have the problem fixed today and being a Sunday and all garages closed would be impossible but that was my options!. This is not stated in the T & C and an exception should have been given considering I was not able to have repairs done due to no where open! Im disgusted with this company as no one senior to speak too and told to email. Proves you pay for what you get .......bad and nasty service and not covered 365 days of the year

by , 1 month ago report review

RAC breakdown Cover

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by jessi006

I really like the RAC breakdown service. I have used them on several occasions having an old car which seemed to break down frequently. They have always responded on the telephone promptly the mechanics come to rescue you within a stated period of time, around apart from the major breakdown and have always been able to get me back on the road in a reasonable amount of time. I would definitely recommend them over any other mechanical breakdown service. I have it at home breakdown service which I would definitely recommend to anybody with an old car.

by , 1 month ago report review

They have always been very helpful, their engineers are very friendly.

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by john4

I been with the AA for a very long time but on the few occasions I've had to call them out they have been excellant. On one occasion the engineer spent 3 hours working on an electrical problem with the car and did finally solve it, he was determined to got to the bottom of it. They are not the cheapest breakdown provider but they do offer a quite comprehensive service, although there is diffferent levels of cover available. The cover I have even covers me if I'm a passenger in someone else's car that breakdown. They also responded when I had a problem with a hire van.

Comprehensive service

A little pricey

by , 1 month ago report review

AA Breakdown Cover

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by contac17

Many of my family and friends have used AA over the years and have always been happy with the cover. They are world renowned and have a good reputation. To date I have never had to call them out, but I feel very secure they would provide a good service. All of my family who have called them out have found them to be polite, swift, and able to provide essential repairs very promptly. All in all a very good service. I also like their exclusive offers to customers etc. and regular emails keeping you updated on these items. A good service.

by , 1 month ago report review

are considerate to upgrades to your car

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by captj6

service was very helpfull my car was upgraded from 276 bhp to 320 no extra charge, ok I am over 70 with good NCB, was best package price for the cover fully comp plus add ones around, had 2 NCF and are working hard for me, but I do have legal cover, fingers crossed the will get my excess back,from booking car in for repair, all was straight forward as they did all the spade work

keen priced, good service, and you can speak to a person who will help

so far so good

by , 1 month ago report review

Homeserve the best

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by nursejan

I have my electricals, drains and central heating through this company. I found the company on-line and am very happy with the customer service. I have had to use the drains part of the insurance and called them out 2-3 times a year and always had very friendly gentlemen who keep me up to date with what the problem is and how they will fix it. It has been very beneficial to me and saved me a lot of money as if I had paid out for a one off payment it would have cost more than the yearly payments.

saved me loads

dont have any

by , 1 month ago report review

Green Flag to the rescue

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by Qwills

Excellent value for money at less than half the cost of other breakdown cover providers for the full home care and rescue / recovery service. Arrived within 40 mins of being called out. No issues with the repair and limited paperwork to complete. No additional payment was required for the work done. Charming man restoring my car to life. Overall, very pleased with the service.

Value for money

by , 1 month ago report review

Swinton's Service

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by barmoth

Always had good service from Swintons', they contact you when you need to renew a policy and look for the best deals for you. They are easy to contact should it be necessary and if you do contact them they are pleasant and helpful. I feel I can trust them to provide good and honest advice and would not think of dealing with anyone else.

Always helpful, feel they are trustworthy

none, always been happy with them

by , 1 month ago report review

RAC rescue cover

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by kungfupanda

I have been with the RAC for 25 years and they supply a good service and give me a good deal. They have always been reliable and helpful and I have been fixed at the raodside and rescued on many occasions. It gives you peace of mind to know the RAC are going to look after you whe you're stuck out in the middle of nowhere with no other options.

Excelent service and reliability

sometimes there is a wait

by , 1 month ago report review

Included with car purchase

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by acondo

Full breakdown cover with BMW for the first three years when you buy a new car from them. I have not used the breakdown cover fortunately so I cannot comment on how good they are but I would expect them to be as good as my local Sitner BMW dealership.

Included in price of car

by , 1 month ago report review

Rac breakdown cover

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by Hay_ho

this we have linked through our bank account and we are very happy its there if we need it. we get a special card that has both relevant numbers and they are with us within the hour each time we have had to call them out. we have had the abttery changed through it and we are both covered by this so with two family cars this is a great assurance. We have been covered by them for several years and will continue until we change accounts

by , 1 month ago report review

Very friendly and helpful

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by als1978

Again part of a Motability package that we have had to use a few times. Always been quick to recover, including a large family. Are very helpful and mindful of the fact we have children and a member of the family with a medical condition, and drivers are prepared to go the extra mile. They have done long recoveries of the full family from the side of the motorway, to short little recues with a blown tyre where the rescue kit wont work

by , 1 month ago report review

Reliable Breakdown

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by ricardoev

The RAC are an extremely reliable breakdown company that come to your rescue and sort out your dilema's extremely quickly and efficiently with very highly skilled mechanics. They always want to get you back on the road if at all possible and if not get you to your destination or source a garage that will repair for you.I have been with RAC for many years and would highly recomend them.

by , 1 month ago report review

reliable service

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by harvee

Customer service is excellent, you don't have to wait long to be answered by an adviser. I had few breakdown and they always kept me fully informed about the progress and the timing of the breakdown service to arrive etc. I can remember last two times when I only had to wait a maximum of 45minutes. When the customer service person arrived my car was fixed on the spot but I was given an option to take it to garage or change the faulty part there and then if we could find that part from any nearest garage. I wasn't rushed and felt valued. Friendly staff, I would recommend to others. Great value of money too.

reliability

by , 1 month ago report review

Very reasonable pricing

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by blacklace

I found their pricing the lowest on the comparison site compare the market. I also got another lovely merrcat. A baby one with a zebra outfit. Perfect for my granddaughter who is going to Africa, and who adores animals! Perfect all around for us I want one now lol.! I have all the meerkats they make except the one I have given Chloe last week. I wonder what will come next??? I try to sort out all the works they put together but seem to miss it every time?.., I am unsure what comes next for the next one! I would love to try and get every single meercat if I can.

Every point was a positive one but because I never tested to system.

I was a little wary about seeing the companies x

by , 1 month ago report review

Nationwide breakdown cover

Excellent

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by ip368

Got free breakdown cover with Nationwide Flexplus at a cost of £10 per month for this and other benefits Not had need to try it yet - seems ok though, but hopefully I wont have need to find out how good or otherwise it is Found it on the Nationwide website well worth a look for various insurances and benefits I keep getting a message to say the review is short, but what more can I actually say? It's £10 a month and I've not had need of the breakdown service yet

Very cheap

None found yet

by , 1 month ago report review

Continuous Peace of Mind

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by Scrooge47

I have been a member of the RAC since the mid 1960s when (because my car was rather old and unreliable) I used them quite frequently. Now, I have a younger and more reliable car, I use them seldom. Indeed, I cannot remember when I last called them out. Hover, my memory is set most favorably by that experience 45 years or so ago. I would not go out without the RAC being with me - just in case.

There for me

Is more expensive now than it used to be

by , 1 month ago report review

Breakdown Cover

Good

  • Customer Service

  • Value for Money

  • Flexibility & Fairness

  • Product Features

Recommended by johnmar87

Have been with company for many years Service has always been first class Would recommend to anyone considering taking up breakdown cover Have needed them in past for call out at Christmas when car would not start Call out when on holiday in North Wales with a flat tyre. Home call out recently with flat battery Come quickly, always friendly and helpful Prepared to tow you home or to garage so that repairs can be made

Efficient Service

by , 1 month ago report review